No Previous Security Experience Required
The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) and the Security Personnel Licensing Act of 1995 requires all persons in the State of Utah to be at least 18 years old, meet the minimum requirements, complete the required training and obtain a security license before working as an unarmed or armed private security officer for a Contract Security Company. If you have a criminal conviction you may be prohibited from obtaining or holding an unarmed or armed private security officer license.
If you have had a Utah unarmed or armed private security officer license within the past 2 years (expired on 11/30/2020) you are required to complete ALL applicable continuing education and renew your security license. You cannot apply as a new applicant or use any of the initial unarmed or armed training as continuing education. To read more about continuing education click here.
If you had a Utah unarmed or armed private security officer license that expired on 11/30/2018 you cannot complete the continuing education and renew your security license. You are required to start over, complete all initial licensing training to obtain the unarmed and/or armed security license and apply as a new applicant.
If you have any questions please contact us.
Defencify Is The Premier Online Security Training
You can now easily complete the required 8-hour training to obtain the unarmed private security officer license ONLINE conveniently on your own schedule at any time, anywhere, on your computer, tablet or cellphone. There is no need to take time off work, travel, worry about being late due to traffic, or miss out on other things you want to do.
The course covers:
• The Nature and Role of Private Security
• Utah State Laws and Rules Applicable to Private Security
• The Legal Responsibilities of Private Security
• Situational Response
• Security Ethics
• The Use of Force
• Documentation and Report Writing
• Patrol Techniques
• Sexual Harassment
Use Our Code " utahfast " & Save 10%!