Utah Private Security Officer
Unlawful Conduct: Your license will automatically expire unless you renew it prior to its expiration date. If your license expires, you may not practice until a new license is issued. Subsection 58-1-501(1)(a) and Section 58-1-502, U.C.A., make it unlawful and punishable as a criminal offense to practice your occupation or profession beyond the expiration of your license.
R156-63a-304. Continuing Education for Armed and Unarmed Private Security Officers as a Condition of Renewal.
(1) Armed and unarmed private security officers shall complete at least 32 hours of continuing education during each two-year renewal cycle. A minimum of 16 hours shall be core continuing education; the remaining hours may consist of professional continuing education or core continuing education.
(2) In addition to the 32 hours of core/professional continuing education, an armed private security officer shall complete at least 16 hours of continuing firearms education and training during each two-year renewal cycle.
Before you can renew an armed or unarmed private security officer license you must have completed ALL applicable continuing education requirements. Failure to complete this requirement can result in having your license suspended or revoked and criminal penalties.
Upgraded To An Armed License?
- If you have an unarmed private security officer license and obtained an armed private security officer license you DO NOT need to maintain both unarmed and armed licenses. ONLY renew your armed license and let the unarmed license expire. Armed private security officers can perform all unarmed security duties with the armed license.
Downgrading To An Unarmed License?
- If you have an armed private security officer license and want to “downgrade” to an unarmed private security officer license you only need to complete the 32 hours of continuing education, contact DOPL notifying them that you no longer want to keep the armed license and you must complete the unarmed private security officer paper renewal application. You will not be able to renew online as described below.
Renewal Fee: $42.00
Private Security Officer Licenses that are expired:
- Within 30 days, you must pay the renewal fee plus a $20 late fee. Total = $62
- Over 30 days but within 2 years, you must pay the renewal fee plus a $50 late fee. Total = $92
- Over 2 years, you must retake all required initial training and apply as a new applicant.
How To Renew
DOPL will email all valid Utah private security officers a notice to renew approximately 90 days prior to expiration. It is your responsibility to ensure DOPL always has your current email address.
AFTER completing ALL applicable continuing education, you can renew a private security officer license anytime after September 1st of the expiration year.
- To renew your license online you must have the Renewal ID provided in the email
- If you do not have or lost the Renewal ID you can request a renewal ID
- Mail the application to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing:
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741
- Take the application in person to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing:
Heber M. Wells Building
160 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
Phone: (801) 530-6628
Hours: Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (Closed holidays)