All Security Officer Licenses Expire On November 30th Of Every Even-Numbered Year
You Must Complete ALL Continuing Education BEFORE Renewing A License
No Previous Security Experience Required
The Division Of Occupational And Professional Licensing (DOPL) regulates all unarmed and armed private security officer licenses. The Security Personnel Licensing Act of 1995 requires all individuals in the state of Utah to be at least 18 years old, meet the minimum requirements as described under [ 58-63-302. Qualifications for licensure ] and [ R156-63a-302f. Qualifications for Licensure – Good Moral Character – Disqualifying Convictions ], complete the required training, and obtain a private security officer license before they can work as an unarmed or armed private security officer for a Contract Security Company. If you have a criminal conviction you may be prohibited from obtaining or holding an unarmed or armed private security officer license.
If you have a VALID security license, for at least one year, as a Security Professional in a state, territory, or district of the United States you may qualify for licensure by endorsement to obtain a Utah security license without having to complete the required training.
Select the links below for approved jurisdictions and additional information.
Unarmed Private Security Officer License
Applicants must complete 8 hours of basic education and training and obtain a passing score of at least 80% on the final written test.
Applicants can complete this training online or in person in a classroom setting.
NOTE: It is illegal for an unarmed private security officer to carry or have access to a firearm while on duty, even if he/she has a concealed firearm permit.
Armed Private Security Officer License
Applicants must currently have a valid unarmed private security officer license or recently completed an acceptable unarmed private security officer license course and complete an additional 12 hours of firearm education and training which includes 6 hours of classroom firearms instruction, obtain a passing score of at least 80% on the final written test, and at least 6 hours of firearms range instruction (live fire) on which the applicant obtains a passing score of at least 80% using regular or low light conditions.
Applicants must complete all armed private security officer training in a classroom environment in person. Armed training cannot be completed online
Where To Take The Required Training
We provide the application to all students in our courses.
Application Fee: $90 (not included in any training costs)
What Must Accompany The Application
As described in R156-63a-302a. the following items are required to submit the application:
- A non-refundable application processing fee of $90.00
- A completed application ensuring it is legible.
- Supporting documentation for any “yes” answers provided on the “Qualifying Questionnaire”. See page 2 of the application for more information.
- Criminal History Disclosure Statement (page 3 of the application)
- Certification of Education Requirements (page 4 of the application)
Unarmed License: The Certification of Initial Basic Education must be completed and signed by an authorized instructor approved by DOPL OR attach a certificate; showing completion of an approved online basic education and training course.
Armed License (initial applicants): The Certification of Initial Basic Education must be completed and signed by an authorized instructor approved by DOPL OR attach a certificate; showing completion of an approved online basic education and training course AND the Certification of Initial Firearm Education must be completed and signed by an authorized instructor approved by DOPL showing completion of an approved armed basic education and training course.
Armed License (current unarmed license holders): For “upgrade” applicants, the Certification of Initial Firearm Education must be completed and signed by an authorized instructor approved by DOPL showing completion of an approved armed basic education and training course.
- Original “Right of Access” Criminal History Report from the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) showing “No Criminal Record” if requesting an Interim License. (cost: $15)
- Fingerprints. DOPL provides fingerprint services for all applicants and is included in the licensing fee. If you are unable to obtain fingerprints at DOPL’s office, you must include two (2) completed fingerprint cards (FD-258) with your application.
How To Submit The Application
Submit all required items listed above to DOPL;
- In person:
Heber M Wells Building, 1st Floor Lobby
160 East 300 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111
- Mail To:
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
PO BOX 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
No Utah Criminal Record
- If selected on the application, DOPL will email the interim (temporary) security license within 1 to 2 business days to the applicant’s email address provided on the application as described in R156-63a-302g and 58-63-310. This temporary license will be valid for 90 days (3 months).
- When the FBI fingerprint background check is clear DOPL will then email the active security license to the applicant’s email address provided on the application, usually within approximately 2 weeks.
- If an applicant’s application is denied after a federal background check is conducted, an interim license will automatically expire and the applicant will receive notice and reason for the denial.
Past Criminal Record
- Applicants that have any convictions on their Utah criminal history report are not eligible to receive an interim (temporary) security license and will have their criminal history reviewed by the DOPL board to determine if the applicant is qualified to obtain a security license. If approved, DOPL will email the active security license to the applicant’s email address provided on the application, usually within approximately 2 to 3 weeks.
- If an applicant’s application is denied, the applicant will receive a notice and reason for the denial.