Cart: 0 items 0

Firearm Transfers

If you are a prohibited person as defined under State or Federal law, attempting to purchase a firearm or lying on the ATF Form 4473 Firearm Transaction Record is a felony. We reserve the right to refuse to sell or transfer a firearm or do business with anyone we deem suspicious or suspect of committing a straw purchase.

Customer Is Responsible To Know All Federal, State, And Local Laws
Firearms Will Only Be Transferred In Accordance With All Utah FAST Policies

All transfers are subject to a transfer fee, background check, and background check fee, if applicable. If you have any questions about the transfer process please contact us.

NOTE: NFA firearms require additional forms, fees, and wait times from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) BEFORE taking possession of the firearm. The current estimated wait times for the ATF Forms 1 and 4 can be found on nfatracker.com.

TRANSFER FEES

All firearm transfers require a transfer fee to be paid before being completed. Firearms purchased from our online store, or that we order for you, are exempt from the transfer fee.

$20.00 (First Firearm)

$10.00 (Each Additional Firearm)

LE/Mil/Vet/EMS receive a $5.00 discount

For NFA Transfers See Our NFA Complete Service Package

UTAH BACKGROUND CHECK FEE

$7.50

This fee is assessed by the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI).
FREE For Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Holders. Utah residents with a valid Utah Concealed Firearm Permit are exempt from the background check fee ONLY if the permit is provided at the time of the transfer and verification has been completed.

FIREARM STORAGE

Additional fees WILL apply if the firearm is not picked up within seven (7) days from the date the firearm was entered into our records and you were notified to schedule an appointment.

See our Store Policies

IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED

To complete a transfer you are required to provide a valid government-issued photo identification that contains your name, current residence address, and date of birth. A state-issued driver’s license, identification card, or a Utah concealed firearm permit is acceptable.

  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 18 years of age or older to purchase rifles and shotguns.
  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 21 years of age or older to purchase handguns, frames, and receivers.
  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 21 years of age or older to purchase NFA firearms (silencers, machine guns, etc.), or pistol-grip-only firearms.
  • The transferee/buyer must be the purchaser of the firearm on the order/invoice. If the person attempting to transfer the firearm or complete the Firearms Transaction Record (ATF Form 4473) is someone other than the individual who purchased the firearm, we WILL NOT complete the transfer.
  • If you are conducting a private party transfer the seller AND transferee/buyer must provide valid government-issued photo identification.

See more information in the FAQs below for “What Is Acceptable Identification”.

Step 1: Select Transfer Type

This transfer is for a firearm purchased from an online retailer, website, Gun Broker, etc.

Private Party Transfer Information

A private party transfer also called “private sales” is when one individual (non-FFL Licensee) sells a firearm to another individual (non-FFL Licensee). When the buyer is NOT a resident of Utah the transfer must be completed through a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer in the buyer’s state of residence. We are happy to assist in the transfer of the firearm by receiving the firearm from another FFL dealer or individual. See more information and laws for Private Sales: Selling A Firearm. If the firearm is being shipped by an individual it must follow strict shipping requirements. See Shipping Firearms & Ammunition  and must be shipped to us as follows:

  • Utah FAST
    3538 West 13175 South
    Riverton, Utah 84065

Packages CAN NOT have any marking on the exterior that it contains a firearm

Firearms that were ordered by us or purchased from our website do not require any additional information. Continue below AFTER we have notified you that the firearm is ready to complete the transfer.

A private party transfer also called “private sales” is when one individual (non-FFL Licensee) sells a firearm to another individual (non-FFL Licensee). When the buyer is NOT a resident of Utah the transfer must be completed through a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer in the buyer’s state of residence. We are happy to assist in the transfer of the firearm by receiving the firearm from another FFL dealer or individual. See more information and laws for Private Sales: Selling A Firearm.

Requirements

All details of the transfer between the Seller and Buyer must be agreed upon before setting up an appointment. This includes who is paying the required transfer fee(s) and shipping fees. We WILL NOT assist in the actual sale or payment between the Seller and Buyer.

All state and federal laws apply as if the buyer was purchasing the firearm from an FFL dealer.

  • The Seller AND Buyer are at our physical location at the same time
  • The Seller AND Buyer MUST be residents of Utah or a member of the United States Armed Forces and have Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders showing they are currently stationed in Utah.
  • The Seller AND Buyer have VALID identification (see more information under “Identification Required”)
  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 18 years of age or older to purchase rifles or shotguns.
  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 21 years of age or older to purchase handguns, frames, or receivers.

It is ILLEGAL, punishable as a Federal felony with up to 10 years in prison, for any individual who makes a profit from buying and selling firearms or ammunition without a Federal Firearms License (FFL). This law does not state how much profit an individual can make or how many firearms can be sold.
See more information and laws for “Private Sales: Selling A Firearm” here.

All details of the transfer between the seller and buyer must be agreed upon before setting up an appointment. This includes who is paying the required transfer fee and background check fee (if applicable). We WILL NOT assist in the actual sale or payment between the seller and buyer.

Shipping Information
  • Shipping costs are NOT included in our transfer fees. The seller/buyer has the option to choose the shipping carrier and method for the firearm(s) and/or NFA firearm(s) (see shipping carrier policies).
  • All shipping costs and insurance (if requested) must be paid by the seller/buyer BEFORE the firearm will be shipped.
  • We provide shipping boxes for handguns, at no additional cost.
  • We MAY NOT have appropriate-sized shipping boxes for AR pistols, rifles, shotguns, etc.
  • If you supply your own shipping container, per Federal law, it CAN NOT have anything on the exterior identifying the contents.
  • Firearms are shipped as soon as possible but may take 3-5 business days.
  • Firearms are only shipped to a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer. We WILL NOT ship a firearm directly to the buyer.
  • Utah FAST is not responsible for any packages that are lost, stolen, or damaged (very rare) during shipping or that cannot be delivered to the receiving FFL.

See General Shipping & Insurance Rates Below In The FAQs.

A private party transfer also called “private sales” is when one individual (non-FFL Licensee) sells a firearm to another individual (non-FFL Licensee). When the buyer is NOT a resident of Utah the transfer must be completed through a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer in the buyer’s state of residence. We are happy to assist in the transfer of the firearm by receiving the firearm from another FFL dealer or individual. See more information and laws for Private Sales: Selling A Firearm.

Requirements

All details of the transfer between the Seller and Buyer must be agreed upon before setting up an appointment. This includes who is paying the required transfer fee(s) and shipping fees. We WILL NOT assist in the actual sale or payment between the Seller and Buyer.

All state and federal laws apply as if the buyer was purchasing the firearm from an FFL dealer.

  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 18 years of age or older to purchase rifles or shotguns.
  • The transferee/buyer must be at least 21 years of age or older to purchase handguns, frames, or receivers.

It is ILLEGAL, punishable as a Federal felony with up to 10 years in prison, for any individual who makes a profit from buying and selling firearms or ammunition without a Federal Firearms License (FFL). This law does not state how much profit an individual can make or how many firearms can be sold.
See more information and laws for “Private Sales: Selling A Firearm” here.

Shipping Information
  • Shipping costs are NOT included in our transfer fees. The seller/buyer has the option to choose the shipping carrier and method for the firearm(s) and/or NFA firearm(s) (see shipping carrier policies).
  • All shipping costs and insurance (if requested) must be paid by the seller/buyer BEFORE the firearm will be shipped.
  • We provide shipping boxes for handguns, at no additional cost.
  • We MAY NOT have appropriate-sized shipping boxes for AR pistols, rifles, shotguns, etc.
  • If you supply your own shipping container, per Federal law, it CAN NOT have anything on the exterior identifying the contents.
  • Firearms are shipped as soon as possible but may take 3-5 business days.
  • Firearms are only shipped to a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer. We WILL NOT ship a firearm directly to the buyer.
  • Utah FAST is not responsible for any packages that are lost, stolen, or damaged (very rare) during shipping or that cannot be delivered to the receiving FFL.

See General Shipping & Insurance Rates Below In The FAQs.

Continue below only AFTER we have notified you that we have received and processed your firearm and it is ready to be transferred to you.

Step 2: APPOINTMENT REQUIRED

  • An appointment is required for all firearm transfers. We Do Not Accept Walk-Ins
  • DO NOT schedule an appointment until AFTER we have notified you. Just because a shipping carrier or tracking number says it has been delivered does not mean it actually has
  • You must allow AT LEAST 24 HOURS for it to be logged into our acquisition records BEFORE we notify you to schedule an appointment
  • If you schedule an appointment before we contact you, it will be canceled

FAQ

What Is An FFL?

A Federal Firearms License (FFL) is a license in the United States that enables a company to engage in a business pertaining to the manufacture or importation of firearms and ammunition, or the interstate and intrastate sale of firearms. Holding an FFL to engage in certain such activities has been a legal requirement within the United States since the enactment of the Gun Control Act of 1968. The FFL is issued by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (BATFE) and is commonly known as the “ATF”.

The 1968 Gun Control Act states “engaged in the business” is applied to a dealer in firearms; a person who devotes time, attention, and labor to dealing in firearms as a regular course of trade or business with the principal objective of livelihood and profit through the repetitive purchase and resale of firearms.

Unless you are specifically buying and selling guns to make money to spend on living expenses, rather than get a job, you are not conducting business.

A person who makes occasional purchases firearms for the enhancement of a personal collection or hobby, who sells all or part of his personal collection of firearms such as liquidating a firearm collection (for instance, after the death of a relative), sells a large number of firearms to pay for a sudden financial need, or simply selling a firearm you didn’t like in order to buy another is not “engaging in the business.”

If you are buying and selling firearms as a hobby, purchasing firearms to “upgrade” with accessories, or building firearms from “kits” or individual parts with the intent to sell them, you must obtain a Federal Firearms License (FFL). The ATF can arrest and charge you under Federal law, taking away your right to ever own a firearm again.

See more under 18 U.S.C. 922(a)(1).

What Is A Straw Purchase?

It is ILLEGAL to purchase a firearm posing as the real buyer for someone else. If you do, it is called a straw purchase because the person posing as the buyer likely has a clean background and is doing so on behalf of another, often because that second person may not pass the background check.

A straw purchase is any purchase in which a second person agrees to acquire a firearm for someone else. This is not the same thing as purchasing a firearm as a genuine, bonafide gift. Any individual that purchases a firearm from a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer who lies on the Firearm Transaction Record (ATF Form 4473) about the identity of the ultimate possessor of the gun can be charged with making false statements, a felony, and can be punished by up to five years in prison in addition to fines up to $250,000 even if the transaction is denied by the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).

It is LEGAL to purchase a firearm as a gift for another since you are actually buying the firearm for yourself to gift to another.

What Is Acceptable Identification?

A valid government-issued photo identification at the time of background check initiation that displays the buyers;

  • Full legal name
  • Date of birth
  • Current residential address

Example: Driver’s License or State Issued Identification Card

– Utah temporary (paper) driver’s licenses ARE accepted.
– A handwritten sticker showing an address change on the back WILL NOT be accepted.
– Identification that is expired WILL NOT be accepted.

As explained by the ATF:
  • The identification document presented by the transferee must have a photograph of the transferee, as well as the transferee’s name, residence address, and date of birth. The identification document must also be valid (e.g., unexpired) and have been issued by a governmental entity for the purpose of identification of individuals. An example of an acceptable identification document is a current driver’s license.
    A combination of government-issued documents may be used to meet the requirements of an identification document. For example, a passport that contains the name, date of birth, and photograph of the holder may be combined with a voter or vehicle registration card containing the residence address of the transferee in order to comply with the identification document requirements. A passport issued by a foreign government is also acceptable so long as it has all of the required information.*
    See Important Information Below For Utah Requirements.
  • Whether a hunting license or permit issued by a retailer meets the definition of an identification document is State law specific. This license or permit meets the definition of an identification document if the State in which the retailer is located has authorized the retailer to supply State issued documents. If the State recognizes the hunting license or permit as government-issued, then this license or permit would qualify as being government-issued for the purposes of supplementing another government-issued identification document.
    A description of the location of the residence on an identification document, such as a rural route, is sufficient to constitute a residence address provided the purchaser resides in a State or locality where it is considered to be a legal residence address.
    [18 U.S.C. 922(t)27 CFR 478.11 and 478.124]
    https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/what-form-identification-must-licensee-obtain-transferee-firearm
Utah Requirements

As provided by a Brady Supervisor at the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI)

“Utah requires a driver’s license or ID card from a state that can be verified by our system in Rule 722-380.”
R722-380-3. Verification of Identification.
(1) For purposes of a criminal history background check as established in Section 76-10-526, the only form of photo identification the bureau shall accept is a driver’s license or identification card that may be accessed through the issuing state’s database and verified as a valid form of identification.

“If the address is not correct on the driver’s license or ID card, Utah does allow any government-issued document to be used as long as it has the current address. This could come from a municipality, state, or federal document. So there are many documents or letters that could be used for this alternative to the address not being correct. The FFL would have to see one of these documents to add to his FFL paperwork in support of a new address.”
“A city bill would work, but something like Rocky Mountain power would not work because it’s not a government agency. If you use taxes or registration, they have to be the current year.”
– Our Addition: A current hunting or fishing license with the individual’s current address will also be accepted because it is issued by the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) since it is a government agency.

If you maintain property (a home) in another state see the FAQ “What constitutes residency in a state” for more information about the ability to purchase firearms in multiple states.

What Constitutes Residency In A State?

As explained by the ATF:
  • For Gun Control Act (GCA) purposes, a person is a resident of a state in which he or she is present with the intention of making a home in that state. The state of residence for a corporation or other business entity is the state where it maintains a place of business.
    A member of the Armed Forces on active duty is a resident of the state in which his or her permanent duty station is located. If a member of the Armed Forces maintains a home in one state and the member’s permanent duty station is in a nearby state to which they commute each day, then the member has two states of residence and may purchase a firearm in either the state where the duty station is located or the state where the home is maintained.
    [18 U.S.C. 921(b)922(a)(3), and 922(b)(3)27 CFR 478.11]
    https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/what-constitutes-residency-state
  • May a person who resides in one state and owns property in another state purchase a firearm in either state?
    If a person maintains a home in two states and resides in both states for certain periods of the year, they may, during the period of time they actually reside in a particular state, purchase a firearm in that state. However, simply owning property in another state does not alone qualify the person to purchase a firearm in that state.
    [27 CFR 478.11]
    https://www.atf.gov/questions-and-answers/qa/may-person-who-resides-one-state-and-owns-property-another-state-purchase
Utah Requirements

As provided by a Brady Supervisor at the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI)

“Utah does allow for this situation if the person is currently residing in Utah and produces a government document (as described in the FAQ [What Is An Acceptable Valid Form Of ID To Purchase A Firearm]) that shows their current address. Then the out-of-state driver’s license just has to show as valid still and not be revoked or expired.”

– Our Addition: This means that if you own a home in two (or more) states, while you are living in your home in Utah it is LEGAL to purchase a firearm, including a handgun, using your valid nonresident driver’s license or ID card. Since the address on the Driver’s License or ID card would not be a Utah address you would be required to use any government-issued document as long as it has the current Utah address to show Utah residency as described in the FAQ “What Is An Acceptable Valid Form Of ID To Purchase A Firearm?”. You would enter your Utah residence address in response to question 10 on the ATF Form 4473.

If you have updated your address with the government entity (e.g. DMV) that issued it, your driver’s license may still be used for identification and date of birth verification purposes only. Another valid government-issued document that contains your name and current residential address can be used to supplement your driver’s license as proof of current residence (e.g. Vehicle Registration, Voter Identification Card, Concealed Firearm Permit, etc.).

If My Background Check Is Denied Can Another Person Pick Up The Firearm?

No!

If your background check is denied, having another person pick up a firearm on behalf of a prohibited person is committing a “straw purchase”. This is a federal felony punishable by a fine of up to $250,000.00, 10 years in prison, and makes the individual who transferred the firearm a prohibited person as well.

How Much Does Shipping & Insurance Cost?

USPS (United States Postal Service)

Flat Rate Priority
Small Flat Rate Box: 5 3/8″ x 8 5/8″ x 1 5/8 = $8.45
Medium Flat Rate Box: 11″ x 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2 or 13 5/8″ x 11 7/8″ x 3 -3/8″ = $15.50
Large Flat Rate Box: 23 11/16″ x 11 3/4″ x 3″ or 12 1/4″ x 12 1/4″ x 6″ = $21.90

Priority (Non-Flat Rate)
Long guns and bundled parcels too large to fit in Flat Rate boxes must be calculated by weight and package dimensions.
All packages containing firearms must include Adult Signature Required = $6.90 (per package)
We also recommend shipping insurance.

Priority Insurance Rates
$0.01 – $50.00 = $2.30
50.01 – 100.00 = $2.95
100.01 – 200.00 = $3.60
200.01 – 300.00 = $4.75
300.01 – 400.00 = $6.00
400.01 – 500.00 = $7.20
500.01 – 600.00 = $9.70
600.01 – 5,000.00 = $9.70 plus $1.45 per $100.00 or fraction thereof over $600 in declared value
(maximum liability is $5,000)

Example cost for $1000 insurance:
$1.45 x 4 = $5.80
$9.70 + $5.80 = $15.50

UPS (United Parcel Service)

Handguns
UPS Next Day Air Services, specifically, UPS Next Day Air® Early, UPS Next Day Air®, and UPS Next Day Air Saver®

Rifles, Shotguns & Other Long Guns
UPS Ground

Packages shipped through UPS are calculated by weight, package dimensions, and value.
All packages containing firearms must include Adult Signature Required = $6.70 (per package)

Insurance Rates
Insurance for in-transit goods is available through UPS’s licensed affiliate UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc.
UPS is liable for loss or damage, at no extra cost, for up to $100.00 for each domestic package where there is no declared value. If the value exceeds this amount, you can declare up to $50,000 per package by entering the declared value when you create a shipment on ups.com and paying an additional charge.

FedEx

Handguns
FedEx Express Only

Rifles, Shotguns & Other Long Guns
FedEx Ground or FedEx Express

Packages shipped through FedEx are calculated by weight, package dimensions, and value.
All packages containing firearms must include Direct (Adult) Signature Required = $5.55 (per package)

Insurance Rates
FedEx covers a value of $100 automatically on all packages.
The shipping label must have a declared value to include insurance, but FedEx does not provide specific “insurance” or have a table to view exact insurance costs. You must contact them and give an exact value amount.

We have obtained the following estimated values for you

Value Amount Insurance Cost
$101 (minimum) $3.45
$500 $5.75
$1,000 $11.50
$2,000 $23.00
$3,000 $34.50
$5,000 $57.50
$50,000 (maximum) $500.75

We do not recommend shipping with FedEx.

For more information and laws for shipping firearms and ammunition click here.

Minimum 4 characters