Cart: 0 items 0

Utah Private Security Officer
Continuing Education

Utah Private Security Officer Licenses Expire On
November 30th Of Every Even Numbered Year (2024)

R156-63a-304. Continuing Education for Armed and Unarmed Private Security Officers as a Condition of Renewal.
(1) Armed and unarmed private security officers shall complete at least 32 hours of continuing education during each two-year renewal cycle. A minimum of 16 hours shall be core continuing education; the remaining hours may consist of professional continuing education or core continuing education.
(2) In addition to the 32 hours of core/professional continuing education, an armed private security officer shall complete at least 16 hours of continuing firearms education and training during each two-year renewal cycle.

To Better Assist You Select A Tab
If you have any questions, please contact us

Core and Professional continuing education can be completed in person or online.

Core continuing education includes the following topics:

  • Company Operational Procedures Manual
  • Applicable State Laws and Rules
  • Legal Powers and Limitations of Private Security Officers
  • Observation and Reporting Techniques
  • Ethics
  • Management of Aggressive Behavior
  • Use of Force De-Escalation Techniques
  • Emergency Techniques
  • Basic Life Saving Course (CPR, AED, First Aid)

Professional continuing education includes one or more of the following topics:

  • Executive Protection
  • Driving Techniques for the Security Professional
  • Basic Self-Defense Escort Techniques
  • Crowd Control
  • Access Control and the Use of Electronic Detection Devices
  • Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) Compliance
  • Use of Defensive Items and Objects
  • Homeland Security – Bomb Threat/Anti-Terrorism
  • Any Other Topic Relevant to the Education of Security Professionals


Defencify makes it extremely easy to complete the required 32 hours of continuing education to renew a Utah private security officer license ONLINE conveniently on your schedule at any time, anywhere, on your computer, tablet, or cellphone. There is no need to take time off work, travel, worry about being late due to traffic, or miss out on other things you want to do.

Cost: $137.00

Use Our Code “utahfast” And Save 10%!

All armed private security officers must complete 48 hours of continuing education. This includes at least 32 hours of core and professional continuing education, AND at least 16 hours of continuing firearms education and training during each two-year renewal cycle.

The 16 hours of continuing firearms education and training shall be completed in four-hour blocks every six months.
NOTE: Core and professional continuing education hours will NOT be counted as completing firearm continuing education hours

The required 6-month reporting periods are:

  • December 1st, 2022 to May 31st, 2023
  • June 1st, 2023 to November 30th, 2023
  • December 1st, 2023 to May 31st, 2024
  • June 1st, 2024 to November 30th, 2024

Firearm continuing education shall include at a minimum:

  • Live classroom instruction covering restrictions in the use of deadly force, firearm safety on duty, at home, and on the range.
  • a recognized practical pistol recertification course on which the licensee achieves a minimum score of 80% using regular or low light conditions.

Penalty Hours

A licensee who fails to complete the required four hours of continuing firearms education and training within the appropriate six-month period shall complete one and one half times the number of hours the licensee was deficient for the reporting period (“penalty hours”). 4 x 1.5 = 6 hours
Penalty hours shall not satisfy in whole or in part any of the continuing firearms education and training hours required for subsequent renewal of the license.

As shown in the table below John Doe, an armed private security officer failed to complete the required 4-hour firearm continuing education within the appropriate six-month reporting period of December 1st, 2022 to May 31st, 2023. Officer Doe must now make up the hours he missed by completing penalty hours. Although Officer Doe can complete the penalty hours during any of the three remaining reporting periods of the current renewal period he made a good decision and completed the six penalty hours in the next appropriate six-month period of June 1st, 2023 to November 30th, 2023. Officer Doe also had to complete the required four hours of continuing firearms education and training within the six-month period. This means, that to get caught up on his continuing firearms education and training, he had to complete 10 hours during that reporting period.


12/1/20 to 5/31/21
0 Hours
6/1/21 to 11/30/21
6 Hours + 4 Hours
12/1/21 to 5/31/22
4 Hours
6/1/22 to 11/30/22
4 Hours


Failure to complete ALL required continuing education before renewing an unarmed or armed private security officer license is a violation of Unlawful & Unprofessional Conduct, punishable as a Class A Misdemeanor.

58-1-501. Unlawful and unprofessional conduct.
(1) “Unlawful conduct” means conduct, by any person, that is defined as unlawful under this title and includes:
(e) obtaining a passing score on a licensure examination, applying for or obtaining a license, or otherwise dealing with the division or a licensing board through the use of fraud, forgery, or intentional deception, misrepresentation, misstatement, or omission;
(2) “Unprofessional conduct” means conduct, by a licensee or applicant, that is defined as unprofessional conduct under this title or under any rule adopted under this title and includes:
(h) practicing or attempting to practice an occupation or profession requiring licensure under this title by any form of action or communication which is false, misleading, deceptive, or fraudulent;

58-1-502. Unlawful and unprofessional conduct — Penalties.
(1) Unless otherwise specified in this title, a person who violates the unlawful conduct provisions defined in this title is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

This means if you lie and claim you have completed the required continuing education but HAVE NOT completed it, renewing your security license anyway, thinking that you will complete it before November 30th, you CANNOT do this. IT IS ILLEGAL!!

Minimum 4 characters